What You Need to Know About Colorado Weed Laws

Last Updated on
What You Need to Know About Colorado Weed Laws

Colorado was the first state in the U.S. to legalize weed. It has both medical and recreational weed laws contained in the state constitution. After the introduction of its recreational market in the US, the state has gained a lot of public attention and has had an increase in tourists.

Weed legalization in Colorado

Voters passed Initiative 20 in 2000 which allowed medical use within the state. In the beginning, the implementation was not widely received until later in the year when there were some clarifications from the Colorado Attorney General, and this led to many dispensaries opening shop around the state.
Recreational weed laws were passed in 2012. There are numerous recreational shops around the state. However, there are more medical weed dispensaries compared to recreational weed shops.
What You Need to Know About Colorado Weed Laws

Buying and Selling Weed

According to Colorado weed laws, the following rules apply to people who wish to buy or sell weed.
• You must be 21 years old or above, and you must provide a valid ID to prove your age.
• It’s illegal for people below 21 years to use recreational weed. Persons below 18 years are allowed to use weed for medication, but they have to be registered cardholders with documentation to prove there’s consent from their guardians or parents.
• Selling or sharing weed to people below 21 years is illegal.
• Recreational weed is only legalized to be purchased from licensed shops.
• Only licensed weed sellers can sell weed products.
• Medicinal weed card holders or their guardians can access medical weed from various dispensaries available across the state.

Possession and Purchase Limits

Medical Card holders’ Limits
According to Initiative 20, cardholders or their guardians are allowed to purchase up to two ounces or 56 grams of weed per transaction.
Recreational Consumer Limits
In Colorado, people aged 21 years and above are allowed to purchase 8 grams of concentrates, 800mgs of edibles or 1 ounce (ca. 30cm3) of weed leaves.
It’s illegal to publicly or openly smoke weed
Failures to adhere to the above weed measurements attract the following penalties;
o $100 fine when caught in possession of the above limits.
o $100 fine for openly or publicly smoking weed.
o $700 fine or 12 months in jail if found in possession of between 2 and 6 ounces of weed.

Growing of Weed at Home in Colorado

Colorado weed laws allow medical card holders aged 21 years and above to grow up to six plants per household with not more than 3 plants maturing at the same time. A card holder’s doctor can file for a plant extension with the state in case their patient requires more than the above-mentioned plant limit.
Similarly, just like medical card holders, recreational weed consumers aged 21 years and above are allowed to grow up to six plants with not more than 3 maturing at the same time.
A fine of up to $100 or two years in prison applies to anyone who violates the above limits.

Driving in Colorado

In Colorado, it’s illegal for recreational consumers or medical consumers to drive any vehicle or even bicycles while under the influence of weed. Driving under the influence can attract penalties or possible jail term.
As a consumer, you’re allowed to transport weed around the state as long as you’re in legal possession of the required limits. Ensure to adhere to the limit rules to avoid getting yourself in the wrong arms of the law.

Weed Hours of Sale

Under state rules, recreational weed sale is only allowed between 8 a.m. to midnight. Municipalities may have stricter rules of operation; therefore, it’s important for you to familiarize yourself with your municipality rules before going ahead with any transaction.

Pregnant Women

Using weed while pregnant is unsafe and may attract legal consequences. Whatever your reasons may be to use weed when pregnant, talk to your doctor for safer alternative options. Some hospitals test babies after birth for drugs. Colorado laws require hospitals to notify child protective health services for any child that test positive for THC at birth.

Weed Taxes

In November 2013, Colorado voters passed proposition AA to add a 10% sales tax to recreational weed sales on top of the state’s 2.9% standard sales tax rate. Additionally, a 15% excise tax was introduced for recreational weed. It’s worth noting that these taxes do not apply to medical weed.

Weed Facilities Locations

Medical dispensaries operate within 67 municipalities while recreational shops are available within 64 municipalities.
If you live or intend to visit Colorado, it’s essential to get yourself acquainted to the above state laws. Failure to adhere to these laws may get you in a lot of trouble with the law and can cost you dearly.

DO YOU NEED HELP WITH A DRUGS RELATED PROBLEM? CONTACT YOUR LOCAL SUPPORTLINE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. IN CASE OF IMMEDIATE LIFE THREATENING CIRCUMSTANCES CALL 911 NOW!

Leave a Reply

Recent posts

About Soft Secrets

Soft Secrets is the leading source for cannabis cultivation, legalization, culture and entertainment for his dedicated and diverse audience across the globe. The key is to connect people through relevant and current information with the same interest as health, lifestyle and business opportunities that cannabis culture has to offer.